Day 3: Robbie Greenberg

I’m currently squished with 17 other volunteers on a rickety jeep bus cruising down the main road here on the island of Palawan. We’re on our way to Puerto Princessa, the main city on the island for a culture day, a way for the islanders to showcase the different types of lifestyles for Filipino on Palawan. This is a stark change from the environment we have been living in the first couple of days. Even the sight of a gas station, or a strip of general stores is in complete contrast to the peaceful village we have had the pleasure of living in for the past three days. Between the serenity of the Pacific breeze a block away from camp, and the general feeling of inclusion from the entirety of the 1000 person village, I feel safe and at ease. 

For me, days begin not with an alarm but with the caws of the roosters and the barks of dogs. Minutes later, I’m jogging though the streets observing parents taking their children to school form the outskirts of the village on bikes, and running along the ocean shore watching men taking out fishing boats to bring in the morning catch. However, no matter who I pass, everyone smiles and children scream out in English. “Hey, what’s your name!”

Breakfast soon follows and soon enough we’re onto the days activities. So far we have helped a local villager weave roofing from palm fronds, plant hundreds of seeds of Bok Choy and other local vegetables, and begun work on a major construction project, building a stage for a community gathering place. Some of this is exhausting work and no matter how much water you drink minutes later you’re already thirsty. My hands are blistered and my back is burnt, but In all honesty it’s rewarding work. Everyone comes in to dinner with sore bodies and dirty skin but everyone’s spirits remain high. This is because at the end of the day all the volunteers gather together to hang out for the eventing and although I wasn’t prepared to be surrounded by this many other volunteers I am so happy I am as this had been one of the most unexpectedly enjoyable parts of the trip.

Off the top of head, I think there are 30+ volunteers here from all around the world. I have made friends with people from Mexico, Great Britain, Andorra, India, and Spain and I haven’t even named 10 other countries. It’s an incredibly diverse group and although I came on this trip to gain exposure to one culture I am getting exposure to many. In just a couple nights I have regained some of my Spanish ability, learned more Saudi culture than ever before, and witnessed the friendly soccer rivalries between the English and the Welsh. Plus despite our differences, we all laugh at the same jokes and with this group, there is just never a dull moment.

Even though that seemed like a lot, that was merely a peek into our lives here in the Philippines. I didn’t even mention our experiences trying to open a coconut, or my attempts to climb the palm trees. I’m excited for the things to come like our other construction projects or our side trips to El Nido and the underground river. On top of it all, I am comforted by the fact that no matter how good of a day today is, tomorrow will be just as great. Anyway we’re arriving in Puerto Princessa now, so I have to go, but keep following the blog and we’ll have more great stories to share.

Leave a comment