Post-Trip

As I write this post on my long plane ride back to the States, I’m able to reflect on the unreal two weeks we just experienced in the Philippines. I was newly admitted into EGL at the end of last winter semester, so coming into this trip I knew very little about the EGL program or how these VA trips work. Despite my inexperience, the other six EGL volunteers on the trip welcomed me with open arms and I could immediately feel that this was a close-knit group of Michigan engineers. I also was amused at how quick and easy it was for us to engage in in-depth engineering discussions with each other. We talked about everything, ranging from current global issues like sustainable energy and artificial intelligence to more specific challenges pertaining to the local Filipinos. We would laugh as the uninterested non-Michigan volunteers would walk away whenever we started talking about our engineering curiosities. 

Aside from spending time with each other, I think we all enjoyed getting to know the extremely diverse group of non-Michigan volunteers on the trip. From Saudi Arabia to Australia to the Dominican Republic to Spain, our fellow volunteers were from all over the world. Not only did this trip provide us the opportunity to immerse ourselves in the Filipino culture, but it also allowed us to learn more about the various countries and cultures of our fellow volunteers. It was truly a worldly experience. 

From an activity standpoint, our VA trip was exciting, educational, and rewarding. Our volunteer task of building an outdoor stage for the local village was definitely challenging, but we made a considerable amount of progress in the hot and humid days that we worked on it. In the end, I think we all felt tremendously proud of our hard work and tangible contribution to the community. The basic camp accommodations forced us to step out of our comfort zones and truly immerse ourselves in the local Filipino lifestyle. We all enjoyed learning about the local culture through fun and educational activities such as palm tree weaving, cooking, and Tagalong language classes. Lastly, the various excursions we were able to experience, such as the Underground River, zip-lining, and the El Nido Island Hopping Tour were exhilarating and beautiful, and they’re certainly memories that we’ll never forget.

IMG_5333.jpg

Overall, I think I speak for all of us when I say the VA Philippines trip was one of the most fun and enriching experiences of our lives. We leave Southeast Asia with unforgettable memories and lessons that we can apply to our future global studies. We’re tremendously grateful for the support and guidance of all the current and formal EGL members who helped make this special trip possible for us. As a new member to EGL, I’m starting to see what this dynamic program is all about. I can’t wait to continue my involvement with EGL in the fall and I’m already looking forward to exploring another part of world in a VA trip next summer. Thank you and Go Blue!

– Jason Comstock

Leave a comment