Reflection on our Work by Channing Wan

What an experience. We just wrapped up our last day of volunteering at our placement today. It’s been a lot of hard work, but looking back It has been a phenomenal experience.

The Vietnam VA has spent the last two weeks working in a kitchen in Ho Chi Minh City serving food to people that would not be able to afford it otherwise. The meals are sold for 2,000 Vietnamese Dong (8 cents) per meal. Our work was tiring but incredibly rewarding.  You might ask why the food costs anything at all? In Vietnamese culture, there is an expectation (or I suppose common understanding) that nothing is free. Even the poorest of people recognize this and refuse to accept anything, even something as fundamental as a meal, without giving something in return.

Growing up as a Chinese American, I feel as if I have had a deeper connection to the work we’ve been doing. On our first day of work I found myself sitting on a stool chopping fish to pieces on the floor. Guts everywhere. Objectively it was pretty gross — this is something I’ve never done in America. But as I was sitting there obliterating these poor fish, I felt a connection to the way my grandparents lived in China. I’m barely 2 generations removed from living in conditions like this, making food like this. It was a surreal experience. 

Working alongside local residents was a really cool opportunity. We were able to learn a lot about Vietnamese culture and food from people that have spent their lives there. By the end of our time at our placement, we had built some strong relationships with the people that worked at the kitchen. When it was time to say farewell, lots of gifts and hugs were exchanged. If/when I return to Vietnam, they will most definitely be hit up.

Preparing trays in the kitchen.

Celia and Amalia washing dishes during mealtime at the food kitchen.

Leave a comment