Montana Journal Day 1: Sunday

Today was our first full day here in Montana. We woke up early (7:30 am) and had orientation at 8. Orientation consisted of introductions, learning more about the program, etiquette, and our volunteering project assignments. After that, Joe (a local friend of Global Volunteers(GV) ) swung by to meet us and answer some of our questions as a church service took place in the church we’re staying in. We then ate lunch and headed to a sweat lodge (referred to as a “sweat”), which we endured 4 rounds of spirituality, prayer, and a ton of heat. It was one of the most intense experiences of my life, but also one that I am glad we got to experience. We were invited because of the good connections that GV has with the Blackfeet people – we learned that not all groups get invited to do these kinds of activities. The sweat lodge lasted like 5 hours or so, because we needed many breaks to allow our bodies to cool down and to rehydrate. It was way hotter than any sauna I’ve ever been in! After the sweat, we went back to the Pow Wow to eat Indian Tacos and watch the last night of dancing. But then, we were invited to join the community in a friendship dance which was super cool. We left and we’re all absolutely exhausted and we’re asleep by 10 pm I believe. What a great first day. – Matt Howard

Today was very busy. We had an orientation in the morning, church service at noon, sweat lodge in the afternoon and attended a pow wow in the evening. It was such a great day, but we are all exhausted now. The sweat lodge was one of the most mentally challenging things I have done. During the first session I tried focusing on my breathing, but I struggled a lot. My heart rate increased like crazy and I was very close to asking for them to open the door. The next few rounds were much easier partly due to the fact that they were shorter, but I also figured out a better way to focus. Instead of thinking of my breath, I would listen to the songs and sing along. The entire experience was very spiritual and gave me a new perspective on the Blackfeet Nation. I offered prayers up to my grandfather, Da. Excited for what tomorrow brings! -Tomás Vonderheide

Leave a comment